top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMelanie Dever

Outsourcing

Updated: May 31, 2019

Gone are the days of trying to be SUPER MUM and doing it all….


Our lives are busier than ever before….we are busy being busy……we’re time poor, and our lives are filled with endless TO DO lists and chores.

There never seems to be an off ramp!


We all have the same amount of hours in the day, yet why does it seem like some people have more hours to enjoy than we do, while we are left feel buried under the weight of LIFE ADMIN.


Allow me to introduce you to a concept that is revolutionalising the way we do business, home life, and allowing us more time to enjoy life……


OUTSOURCING


I’ll admit, when first considering the idea of OUTSOURCING, like most people, my initial thought was – I CANT AFFORD THAT!


Why would I pay a cleaner to clean my house when I can set aside a couple of hours and get it done myself.

Why would I pay a gardener to take care of my lawns, when I can dedicate a couple of my weekend hours to get them done

or why order home delivered fresh food boxes for my evening meals, when I can meal prep, shop and cook myself?


The answer is TIME….and it is our most valuable resource.


With only 24 hours in the day – minus a good chunk of those for sleeping, eating, showering, etc, not forgetting the travel to and from work, getting kids to and from school, organising appointments, uploading receipts into Xero, reconciling bank accounts, answering emails, staying on top of your social media profile, and well….you get the picture. It doesn’t leave a lot of time to dedicate to your expertise - the skills that give you the highest return on investment for your time.


WHAT IS YOUR TIME WORTH?


It’s true nothing comes for free, but by working out what your time is worth when you are working to full capacity on your high paying activities v’s what you would pay someone else to compete these other tasks for you, you are effectively buying back time to invest back into your highest paying activities.


Lets look at a few examples.


If your time & expertise is worth:


Over $30/hour

Hire a cleaner once a fortnight. You will be amazed at the weight that is lifted and the sense of well being felt when you walk into a clean home after a day of work.


Over $40/hour

Hiring a gardener for a couple of hours a fortnight means your lawns will always be mown, no stress with mowers, fuel or mechanical issues – less stress = more time to enjoy!


Over $50/hour

Hire a Virtual Assistant to complete that long list of time consuming office tasks that have been patiently waiting for you to get around to and never have to worry about them again!


Its true….you do need to spend money to make money, but when that money is buying back time, OUTSOURCING really is the golden ticket!


2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page